Khao Pud-Thai Fried Rice

The word for food in Thailand is khao.

Rice the staple food of the Thai people is also khao.

Each is pronounced cow.

One day I thought my  companion said to me “you cow”

and I took offense as although I was fat I certainly was no cow.

Only shortly later did I learn that the Thai word for hungry is hue pronounced you.

So what the woman really said was hue khao meaning “I am hungry.”

Once realizing that I was no longer angry

and together we ate some khao pud.

Leave a Reply

